A Beginner’s Guide to Understanding Your 7 Chakras


Our seven chakras hold divinely distinct energies that help us balance, control, and connect with our spiritual selves. These significant energy wheels align along the spine, starting at the base [root] and ending at the top of the head [crown]. Each chakra has defining elements, including colors, crystals, and mantras that control certain aspects of our life.

The lower chakras relate to physical matters, including survival, sex, and power. The higher chakras relate to spiritual matters, including elevated consciousness and intuition. The middle [heart] chakra bridges them together. The practice of connecting to our chakras allows us to tap into our stored energy from our past to understand how it influences our future. Our inner reality creates our outer reality.

Here, we detailed each specific chakra’s purpose and corresponding characteristics. Identifying how to balance and create a positive flow of energy through these main energy sources will aid in creating a divine physical and spiritual life.

Root (Muladhara)

The root chakra represents our basic safety and security needs. This chakra sits at the base of the spine, providing the feeling of being stable and grounded. When the root is open and balanced, it enhances our ability to survive on our own and withhold challenges. However, when this chakra is vibrating low and is deficient, then the reverse can happen. As a result, feelings of anxiety, ADHD, and excess co-dependency issues may arise.

  • Location: Base of spine
  • Controls: Safety, security, and stability
  • Mantra: “I am”
  • Color: Red
  • Crystal: Hematite
  • Foods: Strawberries, beets, raspberries, pomegranates, cherries

Sacral (Swadhisthana)

The sacral chakra rules our sexual energy, emotional stability, and creative well-being. Being able to enjoy healthy relationships, try new experiences in life, and engage in pleasurable activities is a direct sign of a balanced sacral chakra. Conversely, when this chakra is blocked, it can feel like your relationships with others are failing, and you lack the creative energy to embrace positivity in your life.

  • Location: Lower abdomen
  • Controls: Sexuality, creativity, and emotions
  • Mantra: “I feel”
  • Color: Orange
  • Crystal: Tiger’s Eye
  • Foods: Oranges, carrots, yams, squash, tangerines

Solar Plexus (Manipura)

The solar plexus chakra controls our confidence, self-esteem, and willpower. This third chakra can be considered our personal power center and, when balanced, produces a healthy relationship with self-worth and character development. Conversely, it brings on feelings of guilt and shame, depression, and anger when blocked or deficient.

  • Location: Upper stomach
  • Controls: Confidence, self-esteem, and transformation
  • Mantra: “I do”
  • Color: Yellow
  • Crystal: Amber
  • Foods: Bananas, pineapple, corn, lemons


Heart (Anahata)

The heart chakra is located in the center of the chest and bridges the lower chakras [materiality] and upper chakras [spirituality] together. This energy point controls our ability to give and receive love to ourselves and from others. When the heart is blocked, it will become difficult to open up to empathy and compassion fully.

  • Location: Center of chest
  • Controls: Love, compassion, and empathy
  • Mantra: “I love”
  • Color: Green
  • Element: Air
  • Crystal: Rose Quartz
  • Food: Kiwi, cucumber, kale, broccoli, celery, avocados

Throat (Vishuddha)

The throat chakra controls our ability to communicate and self-express. This chakra allows us to express ourselves fully and clearly through personal and professional relationships. When the throat energy point is deficient, it will be difficult to communicate true feelings and the ability to empathize with others.

  • Location: Throat
  • Controls: Communication, self-expression, and truth
  • Mantra: “I talk”
  • Color: Light Blue/Turquoise
  • Crystal: Aquamarine
  • Food: Blackberries, plums, goji berries, blueberries

Third Eye (Ajna)

The third eye chakra controls our ability to connect to our innate intuition. This divine chakra understands information beyond the physical realm and allows us to tap into inner wisdom within the universe. When this chakra is blocked, it can cause you to be fearful of the unknown, affect your ability to concentrate, and inhibit your connection to all living entities.

  • Location: Forehead between the eyes
  • Controls: Intuition, wisdom, and wisdom
  • Mantra: “I see”
  • Color: Purple
  • Crystal: Amethyst
  • Food: Figs, prunes, purple carrots, purple peppers, raisins

Crown (Sahasrara)

The crown chakra is the highest and controls our ability to connect with a higher consciousness. When this chakra is functioning at its highest potential, you will be able to access a higher connection to spirituality and an overall sense of inner peace. On the contrary, when this chakra is blocked, signs of bipolar disorder, psychosis, and severe exhaustion will be rampant.

  • Location: Top of the head
  • Controls: Spiritual connection
  • Lesson: “I understand”
  • Color: Violet/White
  • Crystal: Clear quartz
  • Food: Purified water and detoxing methods
Destinee A. Hughes


Destinee A. Hughes is the Editor-in-Chief of 3-Hues.com where she discovers the best beauty products, wellness treatments, and sex & relationship topics.

No Comments Yet

Leave a Reply

A coveted women’s guide to creating and cultivating a modernly chic lifestyle.



Join Our Mailing List!

Stay up to date on the latest articles and special offers from your favorite brands!